The annual Australian Marketing Institute Awards for Marketing Excellence are presented to those organisations and marketers who have achieved extraordinary success from innovative and effective marketing practices, having regard to the particular circumstances of different industries, budgets and the diversity of marketing programs.

The Awards have evolved over the years in response to new developments in marketing theory and practice to reflect the growing appreciation of the critical role of marketing as the vital source of value creation for a business.

Key dates for the 2013 Awards for Marketing Excellence

  • 4 March: Online entries site NOW OPEN
  • 31 May: entries close
  • August and September: State presentations (state winners and national finalists announced).
  • 16 October: Gala Awards Presentation Dinner at the Hilton Hotel, Sydney.

ENTRY INFORMATION RELEASED – Open/download 2013 Call for Entries information PDF

National and State Entries

Eligibility: Entries are invited from all persons and organisations irrespective of turnover, industry or location. The marketing program entered must have been active at some stage within the period of 1 January 2012 to 30 April 2013. Applications submitted for work prepared for a client or by a third party must be authorised by that party. Awards will be presented to the organisation or person named as the ‘Nominated Company and Person’ on the entry form.

State Entries: If the marketing activity you are entering was principally or entirely undertaken within a single state or territory you should enter the applicable State Awards. This includes activities where the product or service marketed may exist in other local or international markets. The winner of each category in the State Awards will automatically become a finalist for the National Awards.

National entries. If your marketing was undertaken in multiple states or territories you should directly enter at the National level. A direct entry at the National level does not automatically become a National Awards finalist.

2013 Awards Call for Entries Form PDF

2013 Client Approval Form PDF

2013 Awards submission website. This site will come online on or after 4 March 2013. This is where you will load your award entries.


The Australian Marketing Institute Awards recognise and reward outstanding examples of marketing programs in accordance with best practice criteria in each of the following categories:

  • Brand Extension
  • Brand Revitalisation
  • Consumer Insight
  • Corporate Social Responsibility
  • Digital Marketing
  • Education
  • Experiential and Brand Experiences
  • Incentive Marketing
  • Internal Marketing
  • Loyalty Programs
  • Marketing Communications (Business to Business)
  • Marketing Communications (Business to Consumer)
  • Marketing on a Shoestring (NEW for 2013) 
  • New Brand, Product or Service Launch
  • Social Marketing
  • Sponsorship
  • Sustainable Marketing

A description of the awards categories is available in the 2013 Call for Entries PDF.

Marketing Program of the Year

The winner of the prestigious 2013 AMI Marketing Program of the Year will be selected from the national category winners. This award will be made to the entry judged as the most excellent across all categories. This is the highest accolade in marketing within Australia and provides outstanding profile and exposure to the achievements of the winning company.

Special Awards

The Australian Marketing Institute presents two special awards each year to recognise the outstanding achievements of senior marketers: the Sir Charles McGrath Award and the CPM of the Year Award.

Sir Charles McGrath Award

Sir Charles McGrath had a distinguished record as a leading Melbourne and Australian industrialist, most notably as chairman of Repco, which was one of the catalysts for Pacific Dunlop. He was knighted for his services to industry and export.

Since 1976, the Sir Charles McGrath Award has been presented to those who have made the most significant contribution to the field of marketing through sound business practice, development of the marketing profession, or wider industry achievements.

Certified Practising Marketer of the Year

This award has been established to strengthen the position of the Sir Charles McGrath Award as a recognition of long-term service to marketing and long-term marketing achievement. Accordingly, the Australian Marketing Institute Board now acknowledges the Certified Practising Marketer of the Year from within the Institute's respected CPM members as a part of its commitment to the CPM (Certified Practising Marketer) program and its growing role.

Awards Presentations

Special state events will be held during the months of August and September 2013 to announce individual state winners. The national finalists will be announced prior to the gala awards presentation dinner. State entrants will be advised of the date for the relevant state event. 

A Gala Awards Presentation Dinner will be held at the Hilton Hotel, Sydney, on Wednesday 16 October.

2012 winners | 2011 winners | Past winners | Special Awards


2009 Australian Marketing Institute